Small Apartments, Chris Millis

Grand Prize of the 23rd Annual International 3-Day Novel Writing Contest Now a major motion picture from Sony Entertainment directed by Grammy Award winner Jonas Akerlund and starring the most refreshingly offbeat cast ever assembled for a dark indie comedy. Often...
So Much Pretty, Cara Hoffman

So Much Pretty, Cara Hoffman

Best Suspense Novel of the year by the New York Times Book Review Set in a rural community steeped in silence and denial, So Much Pretty explores all parents’ greatest fear, that their child will be hurt. But it also examines a second, equally troubling question: What...

Interview with Alumnus Matthew M. Quick

Interview with Alumnus Matthew M. Quick

Matthew Quick is the New York Times bestselling author of THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK, which was made into an Oscar-winning film; THE GOOD LUCK OF RIGHT NOW; LOVE MAY FAIL; THE REASON YOU’RE ALIVE; and four young adult novels: SORTA LIKE A ROCK STAR; BOY21; FORGIVE...

The Seep, Chana Porter

The Seep, Chana Porter

Starred reviews in Publisher’s Weekly, Bookist and Library Journal.

A blend of searing social commentary and speculative fiction, Chana Porter’s fresh, pointed debut is perfect for fans of Jeff VanderMeer and Carmen Maria Machado.

Interview with Alumnus Christian Peet

Interview with Alumnus Christian Peet

Christian Peet’s new chapbook is The Nines from Palm Press. Peet is Founder and Editor in-Chief of Tarpaulin Sky Press & Online Journal. He taught Poetry and Creative Writing at Brooklyn College & Hunter College (CUNY) from 2004-06, and now lives in Vermont...

Interview with Alumna Susan Merson

Interview with Alumna Susan Merson

The following interview was conducted by MFA in Creative Writing faculty member Neil Landau in May, 2005. "I sat down with Goddard College low-residency MFA in Creative Writing Program alum, and my former student, Susan Merson for an informal chat over coffee. Susan...

The Shame of Losing, Sarah Cannon

The Shame of Losing, Sarah Cannon

2019 Washington State Book Awards Finalist

A moving, heartfelt and honest memoir about the choices we make. Cannon takes us through sudden tragedy and a rite of passage she never imagined.

Up High in the Trees, Kiara Brinkman

Up High in the Trees, Kiara Brinkman

Selected by Book Sense, Borders Original Voices and Barnes & Noble Discover; Chicago Tribune Favorite Books of 2007
 
In spare and fierce prose buoyed by the life force of its small, fearless narrator, Up High in the Trees introduces an astonishingly fresh and powerful literary voice.

Interview with Alumna Karen Essex

Interview with Alumna Karen Essex

Karen Essex is a novelist, screenwriter, and award-winning journalist. She is the author of the national and international best-selling novel, Leonardo’s Swans (Doubleday 2006), about the rivalries among the powerful women painted by the great master when he was...

The Pink Institution, Selah Saterstrom

The Pink Institution, Selah Saterstrom

“11 Underappreciated Literary Masterpieces” – Huffington Post
Finalist for the Believer Book Award, 2004

Beautiful and violent, spare and ominous, Saterstrom’s wholly original novel explodes mythologies of southern femininity.

And have you read… The Glass Jar? Poet’s Resume (An excerpt)

And have you read… The Glass Jar? Poet’s Resume (An excerpt)

LANGUAGE SPOKEN

Port, starboard, forward, aft, bow, stern, fo’c’sle, lazarette, half hitch, clove hitch, bowline, lovers knot, freeboard, false deck, fairlead, deck-winch, vanging-winch, picking boom, power block, davit, dump-box, buoy stick, PTO, chiller, seacock, shaft, rudder, keel, magnetic north, true north, degrees of variation, aurora borealis, bio luminescence, Morning Star.

Subscribe Here:

april

11apr2:00 pm3:30 pmZOOM into the Goddard MFA! First of two April Info Sessions.Meet Goddard College MFA in Creating Writing's program director Elena Georgiou and learn how our low-residency MFA program can help you develop your voice as a writer in the world.

Event Details

Want to find out more about the Goddard low residency MFA in Creative Writing? On APRIL 11th, join our next virtual Zoom meeting with Director Elena Georgiou and discover why the first low residency MFA program in the country is still thriving and may be the best for you!
GODDARD HONORS YOUR VOICE, YOUR VISION, YOUR GOALS AND YOUR LIFE.  OUR AWARD-WINNING FACULTY IS HERE TO HELP YOU DEVELOP THE SKILLS YOU NEED TO CREATE THE PROJECT YOU CAME TO WRITE. OUR RESIDENCIES GIVE YOU THE FREEDOM TO EXPERIMENT OR DIVE DEEPLY INTO YOUR GENRE.  NO LECTURES, NO REQUIRED TRACKS, NO ONE ELSE’S CANON.
Goddard’s model is ideal for people with commitments to family or work who choose to hone their writing skills at the same time. The Goddard MFA program enables you to tailor your study to any of a wide variety of genres: poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, graphic novel, and hybrid forms, and to learn from a diverse faculty of published authors. Goddard also offers playwriting, screenwriting, TV writing, and libretto writing from our Vermont campus, through one-on-one mentorship from working writers in the TV, theatre, film, and opera fields.

Goddard’s program takes place on two coasts: Port Townsend, WA in February and July, and Plainfield, VT in January and July.

Our next Zoom meeting is on April 11, 2020 2:00-3:30 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada) 
Register in advance for this meeting:
https://zoom.us/meeting/register/v5cpc-yrqzovAQ6y9LqVhTjdGnGEFPY4WA 
After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

For more information, contact Daphne Kinney-Landis, Associate Director of Admissions, at Daphne.kinney-landis@goddard.edu.

Request information  or  APPLY NOW

Time

(Saturday) 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm EST

Location

Virtual

Organizer

Goddard College Admissionsdaphne.kinney-landis@goddard.edu

30apr7:00 pm8:30 pmZOOM into the Goddard MFA! Second April Info Session.Meet Goddard College MFA in Creating Writing's program director Elena Georgiou and learn how our low-residency MFA program can help you develop your voice as a writer in the world.

Event Details

Want to find out more about the Goddard low residency MFA in Creative Writing? On APRIL 30th, join our next virtual Zoom meeting with Director Elena Georgiou and discover why the first low residency MFA program in the country is still thriving and may be the best for you!
GODDARD HONORS YOUR VOICE, YOUR VISION, YOUR GOALS AND YOUR LIFE.  OUR AWARD-WINNING FACULTY IS HERE TO HELP YOU DEVELOP THE SKILLS YOU NEED TO CREATE THE PROJECT YOU CAME TO WRITE. OUR RESIDENCIES GIVE YOU THE FREEDOM TO EXPERIMENT OR DIVE DEEPLY INTO YOUR GENRE.  NO LECTURES, NO REQUIRED TRACKS, NO ONE ELSE’S CANON.
Goddard’s model is ideal for people with commitments to family or work who choose to hone their writing skills at the same time. The Goddard MFA program enables you to tailor your study to any of a wide variety of genres: poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, graphic novel, and hybrid forms, and to learn from a diverse faculty of published authors. Goddard also offers playwriting, screenwriting, TV writing, and libretto writing from our Vermont campus, through one-on-one mentorship from working writers in the TV, theatre, film, and opera fields.

Goddard’s program takes place on two coasts: Port Townsend, WA in February and July, and Plainfield, VT in January and July.

Our next Zoom meeting is on April 30, 2020 7:00-8:30 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada) 
Register in advance for this meeting:
https://zoom.us/meeting/register/v5cpc-yrqzovAQ6y9LqVhTjdGnGEFPY4WA 
After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

For more information, contact Daphne Kinney-Landis, Associate Director of Admissions, at Daphne.kinney-landis@goddard.edu.

Request information  or  APPLY NOW

Time

(Thursday) 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm EST

Location

Virtual

Organizer

Goddard College Admissionsdaphne.kinney-landis@goddard.edu

FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM

X
Skip to toolbar